top of page

Easy way to draw pretty nice shapes in LaTeX ...

Hello everybody

It's me and once again I'm very very excited to share something new with you guys. In past couple of weeks, I was struggling with drawing even sometimes very basic shapes in Latex. I started to ask friends, colleagues and everybody and finally I came up with TikZ package.

This package as you might be familiar with, is really powerful and flexible tool for doing some drawing jobs. But here is the problem, that you need to spend huge amount of time to create even a simple shape in comparison to Microsoft Word. That's maybe the major reason that when I asked the other people's advice, they all wanted me to draw everything in Word and then import them in Latex. I guess it's all come from the fact that there is no graphical user interface (GUI) which we are all used to use. It's like, you have to always picture everything in your mind and then write code for your imaginary shape.

What the pain in ... ? huh ?

Finally I was able to find solution for my problem. A solution which helped me to have some pretty nice and neat shapes in my document as well as saving a lot of time. I would like to introduce you to a tool that's very useful for creating and displaying mathematical diagrams in Latex. This tool is called "GeoGebra" (http://www.geogebra.org/) and it's software with GUI which helps you to create whatever you like and it generates TikZ code to use in our LaTeX documents.

I have also shared a YouTube clip in the top of the post, which helps you using this software.






Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page